My Favorites of 2019

Allan Chochinov
3 min readDec 16, 2019

--

For a handful of years, I’ve published a list of my favorite short/medium/and long reads of the year, but gradually other media have snuck in. So for the second year in a row, I’m including links, books, podcasts, videos, and some extras. Still just 10 items long, plus a few bonus tracks as usual.

Wishing everyone a great 2020 ahead! Let’s get to it.

1. The Library Book (again)

This was #6 on last year’s list, but this year it’s out in paperback. (Do I need to put it in the intro paragraph next year?) Completely amazing in every way; do not hesitate. Perfect gift too.
Susan Orlean, October 2019

2. Neil and Buzz Barely Got Out of the Infield

Sobering. And fascinating.
Jason Kottke, kottke.org, July 2019

3. NEW IPhone 11 Pro vs $20,000 Leica | Can You Tell The Difference?

I did treat myself to the 11Pro in fact. It’s the first time I’ve ever gotten the flagship, fwiw, so I’m feelin’ pretty good about this one.
Sawyerhartman, November 2019

4. The Fourth Agricultural Revolution Is Upon Us

Definitely some objectionable stuff in here, but worth a listen for sure.
Now, Near and Next, November 2019

5. Former FBI Agent Explains How to Read Body Language

I can never watch enough of these.
Wired, May 2019

6. A Message from the Future with Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez

I remember being so inspired by this the day it came out. You too?
The Intercept, April 2019

7. Believe it or not, these images are actually 3D renders

A highwater mark that’s sure to stun.
Jyni Ong, It’s Nice That, October 2019

8. The 6 Most Passive-Aggressive Email Phrases You Use Without Thinking, According to a Recent Study

Of course, this is just a friendly reminder.
Scott Mautz, Inc.com, (date hidden)

9. Interview with Bill Harris, Ph.D.: Omega-3 fatty acids

Wonder what the hell “Omega-3 fatty acids” are? Well, no longer. And it’s fascinating. I love science, and I love jargon, and I especially love learning about chemistry in the body. You will too. Promise.
The Peter Attia Drive, December 2019

10. How to use the Live Photo feature on your iPhone to take motion-enhanced pictures

I cannot believe that I didn’t know about this. But everyone I’ve shown it to hasn’t known about it either. (Truth be told I first saw this on TikTok :|)
Jennifer Still, Travel Dares, June 2019

11. Dear Designer: The Road Back

There’s a #11 in here because you should always deliver more than you promise, and this article is the only way to end this list. (Also, the essay I wish I’d written…along with every essay that Mike Monteiro has ever written!)
Mike Monteiro, Medium, December 2019

BONUS TRACKS

A. Baby Yoda Doll (Crochet) — How to shape the eyes, nose and eyelids

I did watch this all the way through. (Time to pay up for no-ads already?)
Yarn2tog, December 2019

B. There’s Meat Hiding in Every Food

Yikes. Basically never leave your home. (Though there’s meat in there too.)
College Humor, May 2019

C. METMO: Metal in Motion

This is the product that I am absolutely kicking myself for not funding. If anyone out there’s got one, or bored of it, and wants to sell…

D. Coffee Table Surfing

Ack, 4 bonus tracks aren’t really “a bonus track” any longer, but it’s the last year of the decade. So let’s surf!
@austenkeen on IG

--

--